Home | Historic Track Database | Feature Articles | Ghost Speedways | Photos | Updates

Humberstone Speedway & Merrittville Speedway
August 5/6, 2007

I made my annual trip to the Niagara region for the Civic Holiday weekend. Sunday was the "All Canadian Championship" at Humberstone featuring the Ontario Dirt Late Models. Merrittville hosted the 15th annual "Trevor Wilkens Memorial" with the DIRT Big Block Modifieds.

At both tracks I went to the pit side in the hope of getting some good on-track photos. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get very many due to the placement of the pit stands, fences, etc. The links to the photo galleries are listed below.

Sunday, August 5: Humberstone Speedway

The Ontario Dirt Late Models ran a 30 lap feature which was won by Rob Ledingham in #7. Ledingham ran regularly in Humberstone's Sportsman division in past years. This was his first time in a Late Model. Ledingham dogged early leader Joe Field throughout the feature and made his move for the lead with 2 laps to go. On the last lap Dutch Davies had caught Field and dropped to the inside on turn 4, just beating Field by inches at the finish line to take second.

Despite the overcast skies and light rain the grandstands were packed with fans.

Click here for the Humberstone Photo Gallery.

Monday, August 6: Merrittville Speedway

After making a small donation at the Fort Erie Slots I made my way up to Merrittville Speedway.

Modified Driver List
3 Justin Haers
3b Chad Brachmann
7x Steve Paine
9 Ken Cosgrove
14j Alan Johnson
15j Tim Jones
19 Tim Fuller
20 Brett Hearn
t21 Roger Chrysler
21k Randy Chrysler
22 Stewart Friesen
23 Larry Lampman, Jr
26 Rick Richner
27j Danny Johnson
31 George Bosse
38 Scott Wood
42 Pete Bicknell
44s Matt Sheppard
49 Billy Dunn
52 Todd Gordon
54j Boyd MacTavish
56 Dereck Lemyre
77x Dale Planck
80 Chris Steele
84 Gary Tomkins
91 Billy Decker
98H Jimmy Phelps
112 Frank Cozze
123 Robbie Krull

Apparantly Danny Johnson was held up at the border causing him to arrive late at the track. His truck rolled up to the pit gate at 6:45pm. They were able to quickly unload the car in time for qualilfying at 7:00pm. The fast qualifier was Brett Hearn at 15.383 seconds.

The top 12 qualifiers conducted a redraw for starting order. Hearn's fast qualifying time was for naught as he drew 10th place. Danny Johnson drew #1 and Pete Bicknell drew #2.

Bicknell nosed out Danny Johnson to lead the first lap but after that it was all Johnson who led the rest of the way to take the win. No one came close to him.

Brett Hearn moved his way through the field reaching third place on lap 39 and passing Tim Fuller on lap lap 59 for second. Late in the race Billy Decker passed Hearn for second. At the finish line it was Danny Johnson, Billy Decker, Brett Hearn, Tim Fuller and Alan Johnson making up the top five.

The race was slowed by only one caution. On lap 5 Randy Chrysler's car died on the back stretch.

Click here for the Merrittville Photo Gallery.